Five ‘World’s Largest Containership’ Titleholders

Check out these ship photos of five containerships that were once considered the world’s largest by TEU (twenty equivent unit – 20 foot container) carrying capacity.

The list starts with the mighty Emma Maersk, part of the Mearsk E-Class, delivered in 2006. While each of these ships would eventually be joined by sister vessels of equal size, each at one point was considered the sole titleholder for the ‘world’s biggest’.

MV Emma Maersk (2006) – 11,000+ TEU (Updated to 15,500 TEU)


MV CMA CGM Marco Polo (2012) – 16,000+ TEU


MV Maersk McKinney Moller (2013) – 18,000+ TEU


MV CSCL Globe (2014) – 19,000 TEU


MV MSC Oscar (2015) – 19,221 TEU


The next ship to claim the title as the world’s biggest boxship is still yet to be determined, but I’d place my money on it being over 20,000 TEU.

(source and image credit)