Dangerous goods

With the devastating images and stories coming out of Tianjin from last month’s explosions, it has forced the maritime industry (among the others) to ensure that all practices surrounding the handling of hazardous goods be reviewed.

What are dangerous goods?

Dangerous goods‘ are materials or items with hazardous properties which, if not properly controlled, present a potential hazard to human health and safety, infrastructure and/ or their means of transport.

The handling of dangerous goods/hazardous cargo is an extremely important one, and is certainly not to be taken lightly.

The transportation of dangerous goods is controlled and governed by a variety of different regulatory regimes, operating at both the national and international levels.

There are nine (9) classes of dangerous goods, each having it’s own separate sub-divisions:

  1. Explosives
  2. Gases
  3. Flammable Liquids
  4. Flammable Solids
  5. Oxidizing Substances
  6. Toxic & Infectious Substances
  7. Radioactive Material
  8. Corrosives
  9. Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods

The  International Maritime Organization (Maritime Safety Committee) operates with the IMDG Code (International Maritime Dangerous Goods Code) for the carriage of Dangerous Goods (Hazardous Cargo).

It is imperative that any hazardous cargo that is moved via sea (or air) is declared prior to movement.  These requests are scrutinized by all parties involved to ensure that correct packing / stowage is carried out.  Mis-declared hazardous cargo can create catastrophic events and loss of lives.

We here at EES Shipping have been handling hazardous cargo since our beginning.  We have staff that are fully trained and certified in this field.

Do you have hazardous cargo that you need shipped?  Contact us today.